Is Instinct a good dog food?

No representative product: Label text not published on brand website · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

The brand website does not publish label text; we could not read the label online. 1 item not disclosed by the company.

3 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 1 partly, 1 not disclosed, 3 not checked. FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?YES

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

“We have a dedicated team of experts crafting and making our raw recipes, from food scientists to quality control specialists to our on staff Board Certified Veterinary Nutritionist® and vet techs.”

Source: instinctpetfood.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Who formulates the diet?NOT DISCLOSED

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

No source line found.

Quality control process?PARTLY

What quality control measures does the company use?

“For over two decades, we've set the standard for quality — using the highest quality ingredients and raising the bar for safety.”

Not stated: no concrete testing or named standard

Source: instinctpetfood.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Research conducted / published?YES

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

“Instinct is proud to have a multiyear research agreement with Dr. Anna Hielm-Björkman and the DogRisk independent research program at the University of Helsinki.”

Source: instinctpetfood.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Adequacy statementNOT CHECKED · label not online

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

Not checked: this is printed on the bag, but we could not read the label online (Label text not published on brand website).

Calories stated?NOT CHECKED · label not online

Calories per cup / serving stated?

Not checked: this is printed on the bag, but we could not read the label online (Label text not published on brand website).

Contact info on label?NOT CHECKED · label not online

Contact information on the label?

Not checked: this is printed on the bag, but we could not read the label online (Label text not published on brand website).

Who makes it?YES

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

“With our own facilities and rigorous protocols, we make fresh, raw food that's trusted and proven.”

Source: instinctpetfood.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

Label text not published on brand website

Recall record

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Work out a daily amount from your dog's weight.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 47 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →