Is Diamond Naturals a good dog food?

Checked against Diamond Naturals EXTREME ATHLETE ADULT DOG CHICKEN & RICE FORMULA · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

3 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 2 partly, 3 not disclosed.

Adequacy by formulation (no feeding trial). FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?PARTLY

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

“a team of experts and scientists incorporating the latest research from many disciplines: veterinary medicine, companion animal nutrition”

Not stated: whether a qualified nutritionist is employed

Source: diamondpet.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Who formulates the diet?PARTLY

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

“Our foods are developed using our proprietary formulation technology and a team of experts and scientists”

Not stated: credentials of those who formulate the diets

Source: diamondpet.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Quality control process?YES

What quality control measures does the company use?

“We consistently monitor and test our raw materials, production environment, processes and finished products.”

Source: diamondpet.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Research conducted / published?NOT DISCLOSED

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

No source line found.

Adequacy statementFORMULATED

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

“Diamond Naturals Extreme Athlete Adult Dog Chicken & Rice Formula is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.”

Source: diamondpet.com · Thu, 25 Jun 2026 11:22:14 GMT

Calories stated?466 kcal/cup

Calories per cup / serving stated?

“4,107 kcal/kg (466 kcal/cup”

Source: diamondpet.com · Thu, 25 Jun 2026 11:22:14 GMT

Contact info on label?NOT DISCLOSED

Contact information on the label?

No source line found.

Who makes it?NOT DISCLOSED

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

No source line found.

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

“Diamond Naturals Extreme Athlete Adult Dog Chicken & Rice Formula is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.”
  • Life stage, as stated: maintenance
  • Calories: 466 kcal/cup
  • Protein: 32% min
  • Fat: 25% min

Label source: diamondpet.com · Thu, 25 Jun 2026 11:22:14 GMT

Recall record

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Using 466 kcal/cup from the label.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 15 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →