Is Freshpet a good dog food?

Checked against roasted meals® tender chicken recipe with garden vegetables · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

6 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 1 partly, 1 not disclosed.

Adequacy by formulation (no feeding trial). FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?YES

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

“Also employed full time is Board Certified Veterinary Nutritionist ® Dr. Lisa Weeth, DVM, DACVIM (Nutrition)”

Source: freshpet.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Who formulates the diet?YES

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

“Dr. Gerardo Perez-Camargo, is a qualified veterinarian with a PhD in Animal Nutrition who formulates every recipe we produce”

Source: freshpet.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Quality control process?YES

What quality control measures does the company use?

“Samples are tested for Listeria, Salmonella, Anaerobic Plate Count, Enterobacter, yeast, mold, and Lactic Acid Bacteria.”

Source: freshpet.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Research conducted / published?YES

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

“Freshpet has also recently published a feeding study on skin microbiome”

Source: freshpet.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Adequacy statementFORMULATED

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

“This product is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.”

Source: freshpet.com

Calories stated?296 kcal/cup

Calories per cup / serving stated?

“2020 kcal/kg Metabolizable Energy (ME) 296 kcal/cup”

Source: freshpet.com

Contact info on label?NOT DISCLOSED

Contact information on the label?

No source line found.

Who makes it?PARTLY

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

“Freshpet produces the majority of our complete and balanced products at the Freshpet Kitchens in Bethlehem, PA and Ennis, TX. Only a small percentage of products are produced at another US location”

Not stated: whether the other US location is company-owned or a co-manufacturer

Source: freshpet.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

“This product is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.”
  • Life stage, as stated: adult maintenance
  • Calories: 296 kcal/cup
  • Protein: 14% min
  • Fat: 11% min

Label source: freshpet.com

Recall record

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Using 296 kcal/cup from the label.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 15 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →