Is Fromm a good dog food?

No representative product: Label text not published on brand website · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

The brand website does not publish label text; we could not read the label online.

4 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 1 partly, 0 not disclosed, 3 not checked. Two recalls (2025; 2026). FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 2 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?YES

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

“Diets are developed by Tom Nieman, the owner of the company, and our Research & Development Team, which includes our PhD animal nutritionist, Dr. Danielle Opetz .”

Source: frommfamily.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Who formulates the diet?YES

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

“Diets are developed by Tom Nieman, the owner of the company, and our Research & Development Team, which includes our PhD animal nutritionist, Dr. Danielle Opetz .”

Source: frommfamily.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Quality control process?YES

What quality control measures does the company use?

“Our safety procedures include an approved supplier program, on-site raw ingredient and in-process testing, and using an accredited third-party laboratory to test finished dry foods, frozen, and extruded treats for pathogenic bacteria.”

Source: frommfamily.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Research conducted / published?PARTLY

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

“Diets are developed by Tom Nieman, the owner of the company, and our Research & Development Team, which includes our PhD animal nutritionist, Dr. Danielle Opetz”

Not stated: no publication or named study

Source: frommfamily.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Adequacy statementNOT CHECKED · label not online

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

Not checked: this is printed on the bag, but we could not read the label online (Label text not published on brand website).

Calories stated?NOT CHECKED · label not online

Calories per cup / serving stated?

Not checked: this is printed on the bag, but we could not read the label online (Label text not published on brand website).

Contact info on label?NOT CHECKED · label not online

Contact information on the label?

Not checked: this is printed on the bag, but we could not read the label online (Label text not published on brand website).

Who makes it?YES

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

“That’s why we own and run our own facilities right here in Wisconsin.”

Source: frommfamily.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

Label text not published on brand website

Recall record

2025-12-03Bonnihill Farms — BeefiBowls Beef Recipe gently cooked frozen dog food, 16 oz. chubs — Potential foreign plastic contamination FDA notice
2026-08-21Fromm — Fromm wet canned dog food — Potential metal contamination FDA notice

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 2 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Work out a daily amount from your dog's weight.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 56 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →