Is Gravy Train a good dog food?

Checked against Gravy Train™ Gravy Train Beefy Classic Dry Dog Food · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

Label is missing contact info and who makes it. 6 items not disclosed by the company.

2 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 0 partly, 6 not disclosed, 0 not checked. Adequacy by formulation (no feeding trial). FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?NOT DISCLOSED

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

No source line found.

Who formulates the diet?NOT DISCLOSED

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

No source line found.

Quality control process?NOT DISCLOSED

What quality control measures does the company use?

No source line found.

Research conducted / published?NOT DISCLOSED

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

No source line found.

Adequacy statementFORMULATED

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

“Gravy Train Beefy Classic Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for Maintenance.”

Source: postconsumerbrands.com

Calories stated?294 kcal/cup

Calories per cup / serving stated?

“3373 kcal/kg; 294 kcal/cup”

Source: postconsumerbrands.com

Contact info on label?NOT DISCLOSED

Contact information on the label?

No source line found.

Who makes it?NOT DISCLOSED

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

No source line found.

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

“Gravy Train Beefy Classic Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for Maintenance.”
  • Life stage, as stated: Maintenance
  • Calories: 294 kcal/cup
  • Protein: 17% min
  • Fat: 8% min
  • First ingredients: Corn, Soybean Meal, Meat & Bone Meal, Wheat Middlings, Animal Fat (BHA/BHT used as a preservative)

Label source: postconsumerbrands.com

Recall record

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Using 294 kcal/cup from the label.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 47 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →