Is Merrick a good dog food?

Checked against Grain Free Real Beef & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Dog Food · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

Label is missing an adequacy statement, contact info and who makes it. 6 items not disclosed by the company.

1 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 1 partly, 6 not disclosed, 0 not checked. FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?NOT DISCLOSED

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

No source line found.

Who formulates the diet?NOT DISCLOSED

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

No source line found.

Quality control process?PARTLY

What quality control measures does the company use?

“We maintain the highest commitment to both freshness and safety, ensuring our ingredients never include artificial preservatives, additives, or sweeteners.”

Not stated: no concrete testing or named standard

Source: merrickpetcare.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Research conducted / published?NOT DISCLOSED

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

No source line found.

Adequacy statementNOT FOUND

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

No source line found.

Calories stated?455 kcal/cup

Calories per cup / serving stated?

“3676 kcal/kg, 455 kcal/cup”

Source: merrickpetcare.com

Contact info on label?NOT DISCLOSED

Contact information on the label?

No source line found.

Who makes it?NOT DISCLOSED

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

No source line found.

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

No nutritional adequacy statement found on the label source.

  • Calories: 455 kcal/cup
  • Protein: 32% min
  • Fat: 15% min
  • First ingredients: Deboned Beef, Pork And Bone Meal, Salmon Meal, Sweet Potatoes, Potatoes

Label source: merrickpetcare.com

Recall record

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Using 455 kcal/cup from the label.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 47 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →