Is Natural Balance a good dog food?
Checked against Large Breed Salmon, Brown Rice & Pumpkin Recipe · Updated Oct 2026
2 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 2 partly, 4 not disclosed.
Adequacy by formulation (no feeding trial). FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.
Employs a nutritionist?NOT DISCLOSED
Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?
No source line found.
Who formulates the diet?NOT DISCLOSED
Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?
No source line found.
Quality control process?PARTLY
What quality control measures does the company use?
“Quality, safety-tested food in every bag.”
Not stated: what testing or checks are performed
Source: naturalbalanceinc.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement
Research conducted / published?PARTLY
What research has the company conducted, and is it published?
“Rigorous research, safety testing, and veterinary expertise”
Not stated: what research is conducted and whether it is published
Source: naturalbalanceinc.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement
Adequacy statementFORMULATED
Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?
“Natural Balance Health Protection Large Breed Salmon, Brown Rice & Pumpkin dog food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.”
Source: naturalbalanceinc.com · Tue, 06 Oct 2026 15:46:03 GMT
Calories stated?400 kcal/cup
Calories per cup / serving stated?
“3,523 kcal/kg; 400 kcal/cup”
Source: naturalbalanceinc.com · Tue, 06 Oct 2026 15:46:03 GMT
Contact info on label?NOT DISCLOSED
Contact information on the label?
No source line found.
Who makes it?NOT DISCLOSED
Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?
No source line found.
Tap any row to read the exact source line.
What the label says
“Natural Balance Health Protection Large Breed Salmon, Brown Rice & Pumpkin dog food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.”
- Life stage, as stated: maintenance
- Calories: 400 kcal/cup
- Protein: 24% min
- Fat: 11% min
Label source: naturalbalanceinc.com · Tue, 06 Oct 2026 15:46:03 GMT
Recall record
FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.
Using 400 kcal/cup from the label.
Calculate grams per dayNone of the 15 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.