Is Nature's Recipe a good dog food?

Checked against Nature’s Recipe Freeze Dried Blend Chicken, Barley & Brown Rice Recipe with Freeze Dried Chicken Bites · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

1 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 2 partly, 5 not disclosed.

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?PARTLY

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

“carefully crafted with pet nutritionist input”

Not stated: whether the nutritionist is employed by the company and their qualifications

Source: naturesrecipe.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Who formulates the diet?PARTLY

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

“carefully crafted with pet nutritionist input”

Not stated: who formulates the diets and their credentials

Source: naturesrecipe.com · 2026-10-06 · company-level statement

Quality control process?NOT DISCLOSED

What quality control measures does the company use?

No source line found.

Research conducted / published?NOT DISCLOSED

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

No source line found.

Adequacy statementNOT DISCLOSED

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

No source line found.

Calories stated?360 kcal/cup

Calories per cup / serving stated?

“3625 kcal/kg; 360 kcal/cup”

Source: naturesrecipe.com

Contact info on label?NOT DISCLOSED

Contact information on the label?

No source line found.

Who makes it?NOT DISCLOSED

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

No source line found.

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

No nutritional adequacy statement found on the label source.

  • Calories: 360 kcal/cup
  • Protein: 22% min
  • Fat: 12% min
  • First ingredients: Chicken, Chicken Meal, Barley, Feeding Oatmeal, Brewer's Rice

Label source: naturesrecipe.com

Recall record

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Using 360 kcal/cup from the label.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 15 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →