Is Nulo a good dog food?

Checked against MedalSeries Chicken & Peas Recipe for Dogs · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

Label is missing contact info and who makes it. 3 items not disclosed by the company.

3 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 2 partly, 3 not disclosed, 0 not checked. Adequacy by formulation (no feeding trial). FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?PARTLY

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

“At Nulo, we prioritize the science behind pet nutrition, showcasing our dedication through the employment of two full-time animal nutritionists on staff.”

Not stated: credentials not stated

Source: nulo.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Who formulates the diet?NOT DISCLOSED

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

No source line found.

Quality control process?YES

What quality control measures does the company use?

“Our commitment to food safety includes comprehensive analyses for nutrient content, microbiological integrity, and packaging quality, guaranteeing that each product meets our exacting standards before it reaches your pet's bowl.”

Source: nulo.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Research conducted / published?PARTLY

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

“These experts serve as the cornerstone of our operation, driving innovation, developing functional solutions, ensuring rigorous food safety standards, and conducting continuous research.”

Not stated: no publication or named study

Source: nulo.com · 2026-10-07 · company-level statement

Adequacy statementFORMULATED

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

“calorie content (ME calculated): 3,652 kcal/kg or 431 kcal/cup nutrition statement Nulo MedalSeries High-Protein Kibble chicken & peas recipe is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.”

Source: nulo.com

Calories stated?431 kcal/cup

Calories per cup / serving stated?

“3,652 kcal/kg or 431 kcal/cup”

Source: nulo.com

Contact info on label?NOT DISCLOSED

Contact information on the label?

No source line found.

Who makes it?NOT DISCLOSED

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

No source line found.

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

“calorie content (ME calculated): 3,652 kcal/kg or 431 kcal/cup nutrition statement Nulo MedalSeries High-Protein Kibble chicken & peas recipe is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.”
  • Life stage, as stated: maintenance
  • Calories: 431 kcal/cup
  • Protein: 32% min
  • Fat: 17% min

Label source: nulo.com

Recall record

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Using 431 kcal/cup from the label.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 47 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →