Is Purina ONE a good dog food?

Checked against Purina ONE Chicken & Rice Formula · Updated Oct 2026

VERDICT

4 of 8 WSAVA checks verified. 3 partly, 1 not disclosed.

Adequacy proven by feeding trials. One single-lot recall (2013, company statement). FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

Employs a nutritionist?PARTLY

Does the company employ a qualified nutritionist?

“Our team of over 500 scientists – including nutritionists, behaviorists, veterinarians and other”

Source age: source dated 2022-12-31, 3.8 years old (> 3y): downgraded from VERIFIED

Source: filecache.mediaroom.com · 2022-12-31 · 3.8 years old · company-level statement

Who formulates the diet?NOT DISCLOSED

Who formulates the diets, and what are their credentials?

No source line found.

Quality control process?PARTLY

What quality control measures does the company use?

“In addition to tracing every ingredient back to our trusted sources, Purina conducts thousands of daily quality and safety checks at our 22 U.S. facilities.”

Source age: source dated 2022-12-31, 3.8 years old (> 3y): downgraded from VERIFIED

Source: filecache.mediaroom.com · 2022-12-31 · 3.8 years old · company-level statement

Research conducted / published?PARTLY

What research has the company conducted, and is it published?

“The Purina Institute shares ground-breaking research from more than 500 Purina scientists and pet care experts”

Not stated: whether research is published in peer-reviewed papers

Source: purina.co.uk · 2026-10-06 · non-US site · company-level statement

Adequacy statementFEEDING TRIALS

Nutritional adequacy statement: feeding trials or formulation?

“Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate that Purina ONE Chicken & Rice Formula provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.”

Source: purina.com · 2026-04

Calories stated?383 kcal/cup

Calories per cup / serving stated?

“Calories per cup (fed): 383”

Source: purina.com · 2026-04

Contact info on label?YES

Contact information on the label?

“Manufactured by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA”

Source: purina.com · 2026-04

Who makes it?YES

Who makes the food — the company’s own plants or a co-manufacturer?

“Manufactured by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA”

Source: purina.com · 2026-04

Tap any row to read the exact source line.

What the label says

“Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate that Purina ONE Chicken & Rice Formula provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.”
  • Life stage, as stated: maintenance of adult dogs
  • Calories: 383 kcal/cup
  • Protein: 26% min
  • Fat: 16% min
  • First ingredients: Chicken, rice, corn protein meal, whole grain corn, chicken by-product meal

Label source: purina.com · 2026-04

Recall record

2013-08-30“3.5-pound bags of its Purina ONE beyOnd Our White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Adult Dry Dog Food” · “one bag of the product was found to be contaminated with Salmonella” · “from a single production run” · “No salmonella-related illness has been reported to date in association with this product.” Company statement

FDA animal food recall listings since 2024: 0 entries. Earlier: not checked.

HOW MUCH FOR YOUR DOG

Using 383 kcal/cup from the label.

Calculate grams per day
BRANDS THAT PASS ALL 8 CHECKS

None of the 15 brands checked so far verifies all 8. See every brand checked.

FOOD CHECKS OUT, DOG STILL WON'T EAT?
That's a dog problem, not a food problem →